Our Conductor

Dr. Tony Mazzaferro was born and raised in San Francisco and is completing his eleventh year as Principal Conductor of the Claremont Winds.  He received his Bachelor of Music degree from San Francisco State University.  During his undergraduate years, he served as the Principle Tubist in the Symphonic Band and Symphony Orchestra.  In addition to this, he was the Assistant Conductor for both the Symphonic and Concert Bands.  After graduating with honors in 1978, Dr. Mazzaferro attended Northwestern University, where he earned a Master of Music degree in Instrumental Conducting, studying under John P. Paynter.  In 1986, he received the Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Arizona State University, where he was a graduate assistant for the Music Education Department and the Concert Band. While at Arizona State, Dr. Mazzaferro studied with Richard Strange, Daniel Perantoni, Ronald LoPresti and Barrie Wells.  He is currently the Director of Bands at Fullerton College. In addition to his academic assignments, Dr. Mazzaferro conducts the Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Community Band, and instructs Applied Euphonium and Tuba.  Prior to his appointment at Fullerton College, Dr Mazzaferro taught for the Mt. Diablo and Palo Alto Unified School Districts.  His guest conducting appearances have included Honor Bands and Orchestras throughout the Western United States, Canada, and New Zealand, including the Alberta, Canada All-Provincial Honor Band in 2000, the California All-State Honor Band in 1994, 2001 and 2007 and the Northern California High School Honor Band in 2007.  He has adjudicated music festivals in Arizona, California, Hawaii, North Dakota, Texas, Australia, Singapore and Canada.  Dr. Mazzaferro has also worked with concert bands and orchestras from the United States, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Canada, and China.  On his principal instrument, tuba, he has performed with numerous bands and orchestras throughout California.  This includes the Diablo Symphony, Peninsula Symphony, Symphony of the Mountain, Berkeley Symphony, Santa Cruz Symphony, Santa Ana Symphony, and the Crystal Cathedral “Hour of Power” Orchestra.